Loughborough win BUCS for 32nd consecutive year!

Rated 5/5 (1 person). Log in to rate.


Loughborough were once again crowned BUCS Overall Champions at the BUCS Awards Dinner held in Exeter on the 12th of July. Loughborough accumulated 5353.4 points which was almost 2000 points ahead of closest challengers Durham and Birmingham. This year is now the 32nd year in a row that Loughborough have won the coveted trophy.


Current AU President Adam Rae was delighted with the victory and he collected the award on Loughborough’s behalf, “It was a huge honour to collect the trophy on behalf of all the students. It is a massive team effort which leads us to be number one. A huge congratulations to the staff in the AU Office, the staff and coaches in the Sports Development Centre and most importantly to all the students who have put in massive amounts of hard work to achieve the successes.” 


In the audience was incoming AU President Lewis Timms. When asked about his feelings on taking over from Adam he said, “I am both nervous and excited. I can’t wait to start but there is always massive pressure with the history associated with Loughborough Sport. I’d like to thank Adam for all his work this year and I hope to build on the hard work he has done.”


We wish Lewis all the best in emulating the successes of this year and the previous 32 years.


The final BUCS standing can be found at - http://www.bucs.org.uk/bucscore/BUCSpoints.aspx


No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.